EPICS Home

Experimental Physics and Industrial Control System


 
2002  2003  2004  2005  <20062007  2008  2009  2010  2011  2012  2013  2014  2015  2016  2017  2018  2019  2020  Index 2002  2003  2004  2005  <20062007  2008  2009  2010  2011  2012  2013  2014  2015  2016  2017  2018  2019  2020 
<== Date ==> <== Thread ==>

Subject: Re: alarm hook
From: Andrew Johnson <anj@aps.anl.gov>
To: "Liyu, Andrei" <liyua@ornl.gov>
Cc: "Dalesio, Leo `Bob`" <dalesio@slac.stanford.edu>, Matthias Clausen <Matthias.Clausen@desy.de>, Geoff Savage <savage@fnal.gov>, EPICS core-talk <core-talk@aps.anl.gov>, Fritz Bartlett <bartlett@fnal.gov>, Bernd Schoeneburg <Bernd.schoeneburg@desy.de>
Date: Fri, 23 Jun 2006 16:56:52 -0500
Hi Andrei,

Liyu, Andrei wrote:

Could you, please, explain better about local CA client?
How can it subscribe to local records automatically? Or will it have
list?

It can use the dbStaticLib routines to find out all of the record instances that are loaded on the IOC, and set a CA monitor on each one - see the example code at the end of the Static Database Access chapter of the IOC Application Developers Guide for a starting point on doing the dbStaticLib part.

How standard CA client will send to log server? Or it is special CA
application?

It is a CA client application that is run on each IOC, which knows how to send alarm details to the log server.

- Andrew
--
Not everything that can be counted counts,
and not everything that counts can be counted.
  -- Albert Einstein

References:
RE: alarm hook Liyu, Andrei

Navigate by Date:
Prev: RE: alarm hook Liyu, Andrei
Next: RE: alarm hook Liyu, Andrei
Index: 2002  2003  2004  2005  <20062007  2008  2009  2010  2011  2012  2013  2014  2015  2016  2017  2018  2019  2020 
Navigate by Thread:
Prev: RE: alarm hook Liyu, Andrei
Next: RE: alarm hook Liyu, Andrei
Index: 2002  2003  2004  2005  <20062007  2008  2009  2010  2011  2012  2013  2014  2015  2016  2017  2018  2019  2020