Argonne National Laboratory

Experimental Physics and
Industrial Control System

2002  2003  2004  <20052006  2007  2008  2009  2010  2011  2012  2013  2014  2015  2016  2017  2018  2019  2020  Index 2002  2003  2004  <20052006  2007  2008  2009  2010  2011  2012  2013  2014  2015  2016  2017  2018  2019  2020 
<== Date ==> <== Thread ==>

Subject: dataAccess
From: Marty Kraimer <mrk@aps.anl.gov>
To: Jeff Hill <johill@lanl.gov>
Cc: 'Benjamin Franksen' <benjamin.franksen@bessy.de>, 'Andrew Johnson' <anj@aps.anl.gov>, 'Bob Dalesio' <ldalesio@lanl.gov>, 'Ralph Lange' <Ralph.Lange@mail.bessy.de>, 'Eric Norum' <norume@aps.anl.gov>, 'Ken Evans' <evans@aps.anl.gov>, 'Ned Arnold' <nda@aps.anl.gov>, 'Matej Sekoranja' <matej.sekoranja@ijs.si>
Date: Fri, 25 Feb 2005 09:01:23 -0600
A few brief comments about dataAccess.

In the tutorial "dataViewer" is used in several places. I think you mean propertyViewer.

I can see how almost everything in the da*.h files could be described in Java (unsigned is one exception). Everyplace where dataAccess uses multiple inheritence, the classes are equivalent to Java interfaces. In fact it looks easy to create an equivalent set of Java classes and interfaces for what appears in da*.h. Of course, this is not the implementation but only the user interface.

I can also see how record/device support could be written in C instead of C++ and dataAccess could still be used by iocCore supplied libraries to transport data into and out of records. If we go with the V4 DBD idea of struct and array, utilities like dbToStructH,etc, could generate a header file AND code that uses dataAccess to get/put the struct fields.

We still have lots to think about in order to implement the Functional Requirements for V4. If we decide to use dataAccess it is only part of what is required.

Marty




Replies:
RE: dataAccess Jeff Hill
References:
RE: EPICS base V4: iocCore database Jeff Hill

Navigate by Date:
Prev: Re: EPICS base V4 Ralph Lange
Next: Re: EPICS base V4: iocCore database Marty Kraimer
Index: 2002  2003  2004  <20052006  2007  2008  2009  2010  2011  2012  2013  2014  2015  2016  2017  2018  2019  2020 
Navigate by Thread:
Prev: RE: EPICS base V4: iocCore database Jeff Hill
Next: RE: dataAccess Jeff Hill
Index: 2002  2003  2004  <20052006  2007  2008  2009  2010  2011  2012  2013  2014  2015  2016  2017  2018  2019  2020 
ANJ, 02 Feb 2012 Valid HTML 4.01! · Home · News · About · Base · Modules · Extensions · Distributions · Download ·
· Search · EPICS V4 · IRMIS · Talk · Bugs · Documents · Links · Licensing ·