Argonne National Laboratory

Experimental Physics and
Industrial Control System

2002  2003  2004  2005  <20062007  2008  2009  2010  2011  2012  2013  2014  2015  2016  2017  2018  2019  2020  Index 2002  2003  2004  2005  <20062007  2008  2009  2010  2011  2012  2013  2014  2015  2016  2017  2018  2019  2020 
<== Date ==> <== Thread ==>

Subject: RE: alarm hook
From: "Dalesio, Leo `Bob`" <dalesio@slac.stanford.edu>
To: "Andrew Johnson" <anj@aps.anl.gov>, "Matthias Clausen" <Matthias.Clausen@desy.de>
Cc: "Jeff Hill" <johill@lanl.gov>, "Ralph Lange" <Ralph.Lange@bessy.de>, "Geoff Savage" <savage@fnal.gov>, "EPICS core-talk" <core-talk@aps.anl.gov>, "Fritz Bartlett" <bartlett@fnal.gov>, "Liyu, Andrei" <liyua@ornl.gov>, "Bernd Schoeneburg" <Bernd.schoeneburg@desy.de>
Date: Fri, 23 Jun 2006 10:14:54 -0700
It occurs to me that another model you could consider would be to run a local CA client on each IOC that subscribes to alarm events for all local records, and forwards them to the log server; this would then make use of CA's queue/ cache mechanism, and would mean this CA client doesn't need to keep its own queue of messages going to the log server, all that queueing would be done for you by CA.  This would avoid having to add the hook at all...
------ This has a lot of appeal. It could cache the last alarm monitor for every record.  



Replies:
Re: alarm hook Andrew Johnson
References:
Re: alarm hook Andrew Johnson

Navigate by Date:
Prev: Re: alarm hook Andrew Johnson
Next: Re: alarm hook Andrew Johnson
Index: 2002  2003  2004  2005  <20062007  2008  2009  2010  2011  2012  2013  2014  2015  2016  2017  2018  2019  2020 
Navigate by Thread:
Prev: Re: alarm hook Andrew Johnson
Next: Re: alarm hook Andrew Johnson
Index: 2002  2003  2004  2005  <20062007  2008  2009  2010  2011  2012  2013  2014  2015  2016  2017  2018  2019  2020 
ANJ, 02 Feb 2012 Valid HTML 4.01! · Home · News · About · Base · Modules · Extensions · Distributions · Download ·
· Search · EPICS V4 · IRMIS · Talk · Bugs · Documents · Links · Licensing ·