Argonne National Laboratory

Experimental Physics and
Industrial Control System

2002  2003  2004  2005  <20062007  2008  2009  2010  2011  2012  2013  2014  2015  2016  2017  2018  2019  2020  Index 2002  2003  2004  2005  <20062007  2008  2009  2010  2011  2012  2013  2014  2015  2016  2017  2018  2019  2020 
<== Date ==> <== Thread ==>

Subject: Re: alarm hook
From: Andrew Johnson <anj@aps.anl.gov>
To: "Dalesio, Leo `Bob`" <dalesio@slac.stanford.edu>
Cc: Matthias Clausen <Matthias.Clausen@desy.de>, Geoff Savage <savage@fnal.gov>, EPICS core-talk <core-talk@aps.anl.gov>, Fritz Bartlett <bartlett@fnal.gov>, "Liyu, Andrei" <liyua@ornl.gov>, Bernd Schoeneburg <Bernd.schoeneburg@desy.de>
Date: Fri, 23 Jun 2006 15:26:47 -0500
I suggested:
It occurs to me that another model you could consider would be to run
a local CA client on each IOC that subscribes to alarm events for all
local records, and forwards them to the log server; this would then
make use of CA's queue/ cache mechanism, and would mean this CA
client doesn't need to keep its own queue of messages going to the
log server, all that queueing would be done for you by CA.  This
would avoid having to add the hook at all...

Dalesio, Leo `Bob` wrote:
------ This has a lot of
appeal. It could cache the last alarm monitor for every record.

Actually it wouldn't even need to do that itself if its job is just to pass the alarm changes on to the log server -- CA will automatically queue and cache the most changes for every channel on the clients behalf, until it finally manages to deliver them to the client.

- Andrew
--
Not everything that can be counted counts,
and not everything that counts can be counted.
  -- Albert Einstein

References:
RE: alarm hook Dalesio, Leo `Bob`

Navigate by Date:
Prev: RE: alarm hook Dalesio, Leo `Bob`
Next: RE: alarm hook Liyu, Andrei
Index: 2002  2003  2004  2005  <20062007  2008  2009  2010  2011  2012  2013  2014  2015  2016  2017  2018  2019  2020 
Navigate by Thread:
Prev: RE: alarm hook Dalesio, Leo `Bob`
Next: RE: alarm hook Liyu, Andrei
Index: 2002  2003  2004  2005  <20062007  2008  2009  2010  2011  2012  2013  2014  2015  2016  2017  2018  2019  2020 
ANJ, 02 Feb 2012 Valid HTML 4.01! · Home · News · About · Base · Modules · Extensions · Distributions · Download ·
· Search · EPICS V4 · IRMIS · Talk · Bugs · Documents · Links · Licensing ·