Argonne National Laboratory

Experimental Physics and
Industrial Control System

2002  2003  2004  <20052006  2007  2008  2009  2010  2011  2012  2013  2014  2015  2016  2017  2018  2019  2020  Index 2002  2003  2004  <20052006  2007  2008  2009  2010  2011  2012  2013  2014  2015  2016  2017  2018  2019  2020 
<== Date ==> <== Thread ==>

Subject: RE: EPICS base V4: iocCore database
From: Jeff Hill <johill@lanl.gov>
To: benjamin.franksen@bessy.de
Cc: 'Marty Kraimer' <mrk@aps.anl.gov>, 'Andrew Johnson' <anj@aps.anl.gov>, 'Bob Dalesio' <ldalesio@lanl.gov>, 'Ralph Lange' <Ralph.Lange@mail.bessy.de>, 'Eric Norum' <norume@aps.anl.gov>, 'Ken Evans' <evans@aps.anl.gov>, 'Ned Arnold' <nda@aps.anl.gov>, 'Matej Sekoranja' <matej.sekoranja@ijs.si>
Date: Wed, 23 Feb 2005 08:48:38 -0700
> 
> The bottom line is that unsigned types should be used only in
> the very few cases where they are essential to 
> faithfully represent raw hardware values.
> 

I find that unsigned types are quite useful for situations where
the operand must never be negative. For example, with array
indexes this improves performance and simplifies the code when
range checking because only one side of the range check need be
done. Of course, I can't expect that everyone will agree :-)

Jeff



Replies:
Re: EPICS base V4: iocCore database Benjamin Franksen
References:
Re: EPICS base V4: iocCore database Benjamin Franksen

Navigate by Date:
Prev: EPICS base V4 Marty Kraimer
Next: Re: EPICS base V4: iocCore database Marty Kraimer
Index: 2002  2003  2004  <20052006  2007  2008  2009  2010  2011  2012  2013  2014  2015  2016  2017  2018  2019  2020 
Navigate by Thread:
Prev: Re: EPICS base V4: iocCore database Benjamin Franksen
Next: Re: EPICS base V4: iocCore database Benjamin Franksen
Index: 2002  2003  2004  <20052006  2007  2008  2009  2010  2011  2012  2013  2014  2015  2016  2017  2018  2019  2020 
ANJ, 02 Feb 2012 Valid HTML 4.01! · Home · News · About · Base · Modules · Extensions · Distributions · Download ·
· Search · EPICS V4 · IRMIS · Talk · Bugs · Documents · Links · Licensing ·